In the midst of the green Umbrian hills, in breathtaking scenery on the border between Orvieto and Perugia, Montegiove Castle is one of the region’s oldest castles. It dates back to the town’s medieval period (XII century) and has been preserved with care and attention. It is now one of the best preserved fortresses of the era. The castle owes its name to the existence of a Roman temple here dedicated to "Iuppiter elicius", confirmed by the discovery of two terracotta votive heads of divinities, and was built in around 1280 by the Bulgarelli family, counts of Parrano and Marsciano. On the border between Tuscany and Umbria, Montegiove is an ideal place from which to explore Umbria’s medieval villages and some delightful Tuscan villages. Over the centuries the castle has changed hands many times making it, among other things, the abode of the Blessed Angelina, of Monadelschi della Vipera - quoted in Dante’s Purgatory - and of the famous condottiere Gattamelata. Since 1780 it has belonged to the Misciattelli family who brought together the ancient fief and the castle’s land adapting it for agricultural purposes. At the end of the nineteenth century, Marquis Lorenzo Misciattelli began restoration work on the basis of 19th century criteria transforming it into a residence. Guided tours of the ancient cellar and tastings of the wines produced by the estate can be organized.